Notes go a long way in the professional world

It has been a very busy week. I started an internship a week ago today at a local PR agency. The experience has been both dizzying and exhilarating as I have been meeting countless colleagues, familiarizing myself with a number of clients and learning how to work a 40-hour work week. Part of being a newbie is integrating professional etiquette into my life and taking in all the advice I can get.

During my time at OHIO University someone (or multiple people) told me it is crucial to write a handwritten thank you note after an interview. Luckily this is one of the pieces of advice I remembered and it might have helped me stand apart from other candidates during the interview process. But, I did not know how integral this advice would be after I entered the professional world. A recent post by Peter Shankman provides useful advice that normally isn’t given. One of the pieces of advice (given by a commenter to the post):

“Send five hand-written personal notes a week. People still like getting mail and it is far less likely to be ignored than an email or voicemail.”

I guess I have a whole new group of people to add to my project. But, what should I write about? Do you write notes to colleagues? If so, to whom and what do you write?

Leave a comment

Filed under gratitude, interviews, notes, professional etiquette, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

