Day 136: I think I am getting carpal tunnel

I wish I were exercising my hypocondriac tendencies by making that statement, but I am not.

My right wrist just plain hurts most of the time – other times I can’t feel my arm at all. This is exacerbated by the fact that I slammed my index finger in a car door on Friday and haven’t been able to move it since. Do you know why this is just SO FRUSTRATING? My right index finger is my mouse moving finger. I use this finger more than I use any other body part (next to my eyes and maybe my brain). If there are frequent typographical errors in this blog post it is because I am typing using the point and pluck method. Though, I must say, I am getting pretty good at it.

Thanks to the kid who broke his finger to make this phooto happen.

You might be asking yourself: “Why is she whining about her medical issues on a letter-writing blog?” The past few days my finger injury and my wrist discomfort has brought to light just how many hours a day I am typing. Tomorrow I am going to calculate the exact number, but I do know It is entirely too many between work projects, managing social media, blogging, getting my news online and indulging in those DIY blogs I love so much. Oh, and doing all the other stuff I do with my hands.  So many hours that my 23-year-old self might need carpal tunnel surgery in the next ten years (this is the hypocondriac version of me coming out to be neurotic).

I am sure I am not the only millenial who is (possibly) developing health issues as a result of my frequent computer use. I did a little digging and found that not much research has been done on the incidences of CTS; however, it is generally more common in women over that age of 55. It is known that “workers who use their hands and wrists repetitively are at risk for CTS, particularly if they work in cold temperatures and have factors or medical conditions that make them susceptible.” This includes musicians, manufacturing workers and typists. I wonder if being part of a generation that has been typing for 20 years straight is a risk factor.

The major problemo here is that people my age, you know those Gen-Y kids everyone is always talking about, are all typing, online all the time. I am curious to know if the incidences of CTS were higher, lower or the same when it was more prevalent to write a letter. Does anybody know? This is in no way, shape or form is a formal post about the physical health effects of our computer use, but I do wonder if CTS will be one. What’s your take on it?

I’m off to write about 50 “Thank You” notes. Yes, I am right handed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gen-Y, health, Millenials

Leave a Reply

